• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • RSS

AthleticHub Blog

NDIANAPOLIS — The National Collegiate Women’s Ice Hockey Committee announced Sunday the field of eight teams which will compete for the 13th National Collegiate Women’s Ice Hockey Championship. Quarterfinal competition will be conducted on the campuses of the participating institutions, while the 2013 Women’s Frozen Four will be hosted by the Minnesota, March 22 and 24, at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis, Minn.

Eight teams are selected for the championship. Of the eight teams, the top-four teams are seeded.

Three conferences were awarded automatic bids for the 2013 tournament. The remaining five teams were selected at-large. The automatic qualifying conferences and their representatives are the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, Minnesota; ECAC Hockey, Cornell; and Hockey East Association, Boston University. Boston College, Clarkson, Harvard, Mercyhurst and North Dakota were all selected as at-large teams.

Two teams will compete at each of the four quarterfinal sites. The quarterfinals will be played Saturday, March 16. The winning team from each quarterfinal will advance to the 2013 Women’s Frozen Four.

Minnesota enters the tournament as the No. 1 seed and will host North Dakota. No. 2-seeded Cornell will host Mercyhurst. Boston University enters the tournament as the No. 3 seed, and will host Clarkson. Boston College, the No. 4 seed, will take on Harvard. 

The semifinal games will be played at 6 p.m. and 9 p.m. ET on Friday, March 22. The championship game will be played live at 4 p.m. ET on Sunday, March 24. 


Sign up for our newsletter

Keep up-to-date with the latest news and updates by subscribing to our newsletter.


Please login using your credentials received by email when you registered.

I forgot my password